whatsoever state i am

Content: adj, satisfied with what one is or has; not wanting more or anything else, desiring no more than what one has; satisfied, Ready to accept or acquiesce; willing

Content describes, it is an adjective. It describes something. Does it describe your mindset? Does it describe your attitude?

My mind turns to Paul. He candidly tells the church in Philippi that he has learned to be content.

Philippians 4:11-12 11Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content. 12I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: everywhere and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.

“Whatsoever state I am”

 State, such as a cold Mid-western state? Or maybe single, or student, over-worked, underpaid employee? Ouch. yup I fail at that. I find myself complaining and whining almost constantly! No wonder I struggle with my attitude.

So according to Paul’s personal testimony I can choose for my attitude to be content with whatever state I find myself in. It is something we must learn.

I find myself struggling to keep my attitude from being disgruntled with what I find my environment to be. I have to make the choice. Can my attitude be described as content? Am I known as a complainer? (you may answer that honestly)

I have been so challenged by both Philippians 4 and Colossians 3:1-12. These passages speak strongly about our mindset and how we allow our minds to think.

God please help control my attitude and teach me to learn to be content.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “whatsoever state i am

  1. Daddy says:

    God, make me content….come on…..I’m waiting!…guess I’ll have to….

Leave a comment